200 Word Challenge The Best Food I’ve Tasted

200 Word Challenge

 

The 200 Word Challenge is an opportunity to practice writing using just the right words. 200 Words might sound like a lot, but once you get going you’ll find yourself crossing that line easily, so be careful to only say what you NEED to. 

(This whole thing is over 100 words already)

 

For Week One your challenge is to write a 200 word recount of a time you…

 

Tasted the best food you’ve ever tasted.

 

Remember! This week we have been learning about chronological order. Make sure you get the sequence of events in the right order.

 

Last Mother’s Day I was watching Youtube, I went downstairs and was told to get ready because we were going out to try a new restaurant called Slabs. Slabs was a small restaurant that was so empty it looked deserted. We were going there because it was Mother’s Day, and my mother wanted to try it because it looked like Detroit pizza. When we got there we ordered a pepperoni pizza, and a cheese pizza. When the pizza came we prayed and tried the pizza. My mother had the first bite and then I tasted it too. It was so delicious I thought it was made by a chef from heaven, and wondered how I hadn’t heard of them before. I tried the pepperoni pizza before the cheese, and thought that it was the best food I have ever had and to this day it still is. I liked it because the food was mouth watering and because the staff were really nice, kind, and super welcoming, plus the workers were always checking on us and making sure that everything was okay unlike other restaurants I’ve been to, so I hope they are doing awesome and that they’re thriving.

 

One thought on “200 Word Challenge The Best Food I’ve Tasted

  1. Hey Cayden,

    Where’s Slabs? I’m always on the lookout for really good pizza, and like your mum, I’m also American, and have really high standards for what good pizza is. In Chicago they do deep-dish pizzas, which are super different to the pizzas most people imagine.

    You’ve used a lot of really good vocabulary in this piece, which is exactly what we’ve talked about, well done.

    While it’s not strictly necessary for short pieces of writing like this, let’s see if we can include some paragraph breaks. In narrative or recounts the paragraphs don’t have to use the PEEL structure we’ve practiced, they’re mostly used to separate different events, and it helps with the pacing (how fast or slow) of the story. If the whole text is one large paragraph we can chop through it really quickly, and our brains can skip over important details. Using paragraphs can help us to put emphasis on different parts of the story, and is a good part of the crafting process to practice.

    Can’t wait to read more – keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *